Home News G Rajashekhar rejects Sahitya Acad...
Wednesday, 11 January 2017 23:49

G Rajashekhar rejects Sahitya Academy award citing ‘intolerance’

E-mail Print PDF

Udupi, Jan 11: Renowned writer and critic G Rajasekhar's work `Bhahuvachana Bharatha' published in 2016 got him the Karnataka Sahitya Academy award. However, he refused to accept it citing “continued atmosphere of intolerance” in the country and in the State.

rajThe senior thinker said, "I am thankful for the award but I have decided not to accept it since many writers in 2015 had rejected awards citing growing intolerance in the country. I feel the situation is still prevailing or has worsened. Writers and intellectuals are still scared to speak their mind."

“The right wing forces are now not censoring dissent. Instead, they are seeing to it that no one voices their dissent at all. There has already been a big public discussion on the issue of intolerance in the country. Right from the Mohammad Akhlaq incident at Dadri in Uttar Pradesh to the attack on persons from minority communities in the coastal district of Karnataka, the situation has not changed,” said Rajasekhar, who is recovering from ill health at a private hospital here.

On Tuesday, the Academy announced honorary awards to five writers. Lifetime Achievement Award winners include noted critics Prof O L Nagabhushanaswamy, H S Srimathi, science writer Nagesh Hegde, writers Basavaraj Kukkarahalli and Dr Balasaheb Lokapur. They will get cash prizes of Rs 50,000, a citation and a memento.

The award ceremony will be held on February 7 in Bengaluru, where Odiya poet Gaurav Haridas will present the awards. Sixteen writers have also been selected for the 2015 book awards.

They are Satyamangala Mahadeva (poetry), Lata Gutti (novel), Anupama Prasad (short story), Chidananda Sali (play), H Shantaraja Aithal (essay), B S Pranatarthiharan (travelogue), Dodda Hulluru Rukkoji (biography), H L Pushpa (literary criticism), Vijayashree Haladi (children's literature), Na Someshwara (science literature), G Rajashekar (humanities), A V Navada (research), Shylaja (translation-creative), B S Jayaprakash Narayana (translation non creative), Gopal Vajapayee (non-fiction), and Deepa Girish (debut work). Seven writers won the endowment awards for 2014.They are Siddu M Satyannanavara (poetrymanuscript), Janagere Venkataramaiah (novel), Gajanana Sharma (biograpahy), Kavitha Rai (literary criticism), Jayalalitha (translation-creative), Champa Jayaprakash (debut work of the writer), Srinath Perur (translation from Kannada to English).



Like [0]Dislike [0] #1 zakir, KSA2017-01-12
Great..... really he has concern on India.

Add comment

1. reserves the right to delete or block any comments.
2. is not responsible for its readers’ comments.
3. Comments that are abusive, incendiary or irrelevant are strictly prohibited.
4. Please use a genuine email ID and provide your name to avoid rejection.

Security code
Refresh (click the refresh link if image is not clear)

In the News


Karwar, Feb 22: Central Investigation Department (CID) has given clean chit to singer ...


Mangaluru, Feb 22: Success in the NTSE examination is a great achievement. All NTSE ...

[7 Comments] Read

New Delhi, Feb 22: Amid anxiety in India over the protectionist policies of Trump ...

[9 Comments] Read

Thiruvananthapuram, Feb 22: A young Kerala couple went live on Facebook as two police ...

[6 Comments] Read

Tirupati, Feb 22: In a princely offering, Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao ...

[7 Comments] Read

New Delhi, Feb 22: The government has no plans to introduce Rs 1,000 notes and the focus ...

[11 Comments] Read

New Delhi, Feb 22: Informing about the well-being of the Indian national who was stabbed ...

[2 Comments] Read

Mangaluru: Feb 22: City based A J Hospital & Research Centre has successfully conducted ...

[6 Comments] Read

Bengaluru: Feb 22: The police arrested the director, managing director and coordinator of ...

[6 Comments] Read

Bengaluru, Feb 22: Congress working president Dinesh Gundu Rao said BJP leader ...

[3 Comments] Read

Udupi, Feb 21: Priyanka Mary Francis, Chief Executive Officer of Udupi Zilla Panchayat, ...


Mangaluru, Feb 21: Thousands of devotees are expected to participate 'Amritasangama 2017' ...

[2 Comments] Read

Days after a noted Malayalam actress' abduction hit the headlines, a Tamil actress has ...

[1 Comment] Read

Bengaluru, Feb 21: In yet another shocker, a 20-year-old hearing-impaired girl died ...


New Delhi, Feb 21: Animal rights group PETA today said it will move the Supreme Court ...